

...Oath administered before Speaker Zziwa

EAST AFRICAN LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, NAIROBI, KENYA: September 5, 2012: Three Members of EALA have this afternoon taken their Oaths of Allegiance to the House before the Speaker, Rt. Hon Margaret Nantongo Zziwa.

The three who are Ex-Officio Members of the House are the Minister for EAC Affairs in Rwanda, Hon Monique Mukaruliza, Kenya's Assistant Minister for EAC, Hon Peter Munya and the Counsel to the Community, Hon Wilbert T.K Kaahwa.

The Members took the oath in accordance with Rule 6 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly. The Rules of Procedure say in part that: "No Member can sit or participate in the proceedings of the House until the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance to the Treaty is taken".

Rule 6(3) specifically states that "when a Member first attends to take his or her seat other than at the first sitting of a new House, he or she shall be brought to the table by two Members and presented by them to the Speaker who shall then administer the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance".

First to take the oath in this regard at 2.40pm was Hon Monique Mukaruliza who was brought in to the House by Hon Dr. Odette Nyiramilimo and Hon Dr. Abdulla Saadala Abdulla.

Kenya's Assistant Minister for EAC, Hon Peter Munya then followed. He was ushered in by Hon Joseph Kiangoi Ombasa and Hon Dan Kidega.

The Counsel to the Community Hon Wilbert Kaahwa who was accompanied by the EAC Secretary General, Amb Dr. Richard Sezibera and Hon Leonce Ndarubagiye completed the list.

The three Members were unavailable during the inauguration and swearing in of Members that took place on June 5, 2012 in Arusha.

-ends-

For more information, contact Bobi Odiko, Senior Public Relations Officer East African Legislative Assembly, Tel: +255-27-2508240, Cell: +255-787-870945, +254-733-718036. Email: BOdiko@eachq.org, Web: http://www.eala.org