它ALA/04/2010



EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY

EAST AFRICAN LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

A RESOLUTION OF THE ASSEMBLY ACCORDING SPECIAL THANKS AND EXTENDING ITS UNRESERVED APPRECIATION FOR THE DECISION TAKEN BY THE GOVERNMENT OF THE UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA TO GRANT NATIONALITY TO 162,000 BURUNDI REFUGEES

By Hon. Leonce Ndarubagiye and adopted by the Assembly on 22nd April 2010

WHEREAS the preamble of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community stipulates the four steps of integration of EAC namely the Customs Union, Common Market, Monetary Union and Political Federation;

AND WHEREAS the realization of each stage of integration leads to deeper integration;

RECOGNISING the bold decision by the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania to give citizenship to 162,000 Burundi long time refugees;

ACKNOWLEDGING that the decision promotes and hastens the integration process;

CONSIDERING that such a move bears witness to the commitment of the United Republic of Tanzania in putting in practice the Community's motto of **"ONE PEOPLE, ONE DESTINY";**

NOW THEREFORE THIS ASSEMBLY do resolve to:

1. Accord its special thanks and appreciation to His Excellency President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, President of the United Republic of Tanzania, his Government and the people of the United Republic of Tanzania for the decision to grant nationality to 162,000 Burundi refugees; and 2. Urge Hon. Dr. Diodorus Kamala, Minister of EAC Affairs, Tanzania and current Chairperson of the EAC Council of Ministers, to transmit this Resolution to His Excellency the President of the United Republic of Tanzania.

CERTIFIED BY:

.

(Xim

1+ MAY 2010 DATE:

Kenneth Madete CLERK

