The East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) is the Legislative Organ of the Community and has a cardinal function to further EAC objectives, through its Legislative, Representative and Oversight mandate. It was established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Assembly has a membership comprising of 45 elected Members (nine from each Partner State), and 7 ex-officio Members consisting of the Minister or Cabinet Secretary responsible for EAC Affairs from each Partner State, the Secretary-General and the Counsel to the Community totaling 52 Members. The Assembly draws the authority to establish its Standing Committees from its Rules of Procedure. It currently has 6 Standing Committees to execute its mandate: the Accounts Committee; the Committee on Legal, Rules, and Privileges; the Committee on Agriculture, Tourism and Natural Resources; the Committee on Regional Affairs and Conflict Resolution; the Committee on Communication, Trade and Investment, and the Committee on General Purpose. The EALA Commission which oversees the management of the Assembly is established following the enactment of the Administration of the EALA Act 2012.

Sub-communities within this community

Collections in this community

Recent Submissions

View more