

EAC Secretariat ISO 9001:2015 Certified

## **PRESS RELEASE**

## SOMALIA TO SIGN TREATY OF ACCESSION WITH THE EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY TODAY

**East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 15**<sup>th</sup> **December, 2023:** The Federal Republic of Somalia is inching closer to joining the East African Community with the Horn of Africa nation scheduled to sign a Treaty of Accession with the bloc at State House, Entebbe, Uganda today.

The Treaty of Accession will be signed by Somalia's President Sheikh Hassan Mohamud and the Chairperson of the Summit of EAC Heads of State, H.E. Salva Kiir Mayardit, who is also the President of the Republic of South Sudan.

The signing ceremony will be witnessed by Ugandan President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni. Also in attendance will be the EAC Secretary General, Hon. (Dr.) Peter Mutuku Mathuki, among other dignitaries.

The Summit of the East African Community (EAC) Heads of State at their 23<sup>rd</sup> Ordinary Meeting held in Arusha, Tanzania on 24<sup>th</sup> November, 2023 considered the Report of the EAC Council of Ministers on the Negotiations with the Federal Republic of Somalia into the EAC, and resolved to admit Somalia as a full member of the Community.

The Summit further designated the Chairperson of the Summit, H.E. Mayardit, to agree with Somalia on when to sign the Treaty of Accession of Somalia into the Community.

The Summit further directed that within six (6) months after the signing of the Treaty of Accession, Somalia shall be required to deposit the instrument of ratification with the Secretary General.

The Heads of State also directed the EAC Council of Ministers to develop a roadmap for the integration of Somalia into the Community and report progress to the next meeting of the Summit.

Other Partner States in Africa's fastest integrating bloc are the Republic of Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda, Republic of South Sudan, Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania.

## Captions:

**IMG\_0088:** The President of the Federal Republic of Somalia, H.E. Hassan Sheikh Mohamud (left), Rwandan Prime Minister Rt. Hon. Edouard Ngirente, and Tanzanian President Samia Suluhu Hassan during the 23rd Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State held in Arusha.

**IMG\_0152:** The then Chairperson of the Summit of EAC Heads of State, H.E. Evariste Ndayishimiye of Burundi (left), hands over the symbols of office to the incoming Chair, H.E. President Salva Kiir Mayardit of South Sudan, during the 23<sup>rd</sup> Ordinary Summit. Looking on (centre) is the EAC Secretary General, Hon. (Dr.) Peter Mathuki.

**IMG\_0124:** Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni (right) congratulates H.E. Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, President of the Federal Republic of Somalia, shortly after Somalia was admitted as the 8<sup>th</sup> member of the EAC during the 23<sup>rd</sup> Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State.

## For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka

Senior Public Relations Officer Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department EAC Secretariat Arusha, Tanzania Tel: +255 768 552087

Tel: +255 768 552087 Email: sowaka@eachq.org

Facebook: <a href="http://wwwfacebook.com/proudlyeastafrican">http://wwwfacebook.com/proudlyeastafrican</a> | Twitter: @jumuiya / @eacmediacentre | YouTube: <a href="http://www.gallery.eac.int">www.gallery.eac.int</a>