

EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY

PROTOCOL FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT OF LAKE VICTORIA BASIN

INSTRUMENT OF AMENDMENT

THIS INSTRUMENT OF AMENDMENT is made this 3rd day of April the year two thousand and six.

WHEREAS the East African Community Partner States, on 29th November Two Thousand and Three signed the Protocol on Sustainable Development of Lake Victoria Basin hereinafter referred to as "the Protocol" for purposes of governing the sustainable development of the Lake Victoria Basin and the sustainable utilization of natural resources;

AND WHEREAS the Protocol in its Article 39 and 40 provides for appointment of the Executive Staff of the of the Lake Victoria Basin Commission and for their functions;

AND WHEREAS the East African Community Council of Ministers, the policy making organ of the East African Community has noted the wide policy administrative and organizational aspects involved in addressing issues pertaining to the sustainable utilization of Lake Victoria Basin and in its regard notes the need for more human resources capacity at the executive level of staffing of the Lake Victoria basin Commission;

NOW THEREFORE and pursuant to the provisions of Article 51 of the Protocol as read together with Article 150 of the Treaty for the

1

Establishment of the East African Community the Council of Ministers amends Article 40(1) of the Protocol as follows:

- 1.0 "The Executive Secretary shall be assisted by two Deputy Executive Secretaries appointed by the Council who shall serve on a three year term renewable once on rotational basis. Each of the Deputy Executive Secretaries shall be of a nationality different from that of the Executive Secretary";
- 2.0 Save as is stated in clause (1.0) hereof, the rest of the provisions of the Protocol shall remain unchanged;
- 3.0 This instrument of amendment shall be read together with the Protocol on Sustainable Development of Lake Victoria; and
- 4.0 The provisions of this Instrument of Amendment shall be effective from the date of signature.

DONE at Arusha, Tanzania, on the 3rd day of the April in the year Two Thousand and Six.

IN FAITH WHEREOF the undersigned have appended their signatures hereto.

For the United Republic of For the Republic of Tanzania <u>Kenya</u> Hon. Andrew J. Chenge, MP Hon. John A. Koech, EGH, MP Minister for East African **Minister for East African** Co-operation Community

For the Republic of Uganda 2 Hon. Sam K. Kutesa, MP **Minister of Foreign** Affairs

2